Home / College Wide / Student and Faculty Kudos

Student and Faculty Kudos


All-Georgia Academic Team for Phi Theta Kappa: Aemah Badri, Deepa Singh Thakuri, Rozhin Pavaresh, Armel Nsiangani and Jeremy Borger

Alumni Association’s Emerging Leader Award: Sri Rajasekaran

American Sign Language and Interpreting: Emily Riley

Barry Goldwater Scholarship: Sheena Vasquez, chemistry

Behavioral Studies: Loam Shin

Best Club/Organization Award: Newton SGA

Biological Sciences: Hazhir Hajialilou

Business Administration: Jeremy Borger

Communications: Ashleigh Harris Gates

Computer Science: Marcia Cupery

Dental Hygiene: Salima Merchant

Engineering: Aemah Badri

English: Justin Beaudrot

Fine Arts: Roman Cisneros

Foreign Language: Faven Worku

Global Studies: Jacob Gallman

Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship winners: Yitbarek Kazentet (petroleum engineering) and Rozhin Parvaresh (chemical engineering)

Kinesiology/Sports Management: Tiffany Tinsley

Mathematics: Ernest Anim

New Century Scholar Award for Georgia: Aemah Badri

Physical Sciences: Sheena Vasquez

President’s Award: Sri Rajasekaran

U.S. Studies: Gloria Herlinda Villegas-Macedo

Regents Scholars:
USG overall winner: Jeremy Borger, Newton
Russell Ray, Alpharetta
Pere Ellis II, Clarkston
Olatide Michael Omojaro, Decatur
Jasmin Mossavi, Dunwoody
Seo Young “Rachel” Kim, Online

Service Excellence Award: Keundra Coleman

Student Leadership Award: Shanteran Stinson

University of North Georgia Math Tournament:

Individual competition: Tongtong “Connie” Zhao (2nd place) and Yunho Choi (5th place)
Team competition: Thien Lam, Vinh Pham and Elijah Williams (2nd place)
Overall: 2nd place
Advisors: Iason Rusodimos, Barrett Walls, Allison Wolf, Diana McGinnis and Amos Darrisaw


Advisor of the Year Award: William Gregory Johnson

Alumni Association’s Outstanding Faculty of the Year: Rosalyn Jacobs

Alumni Association’s Outstanding Staff of the Year: Trae Johnson

Cole Fellow Award: Anant Honkan

Faculty Professional Development Award: Dr. Frederick Bounds

Faculty Service Excellence: Pamela Cushenan

GPC Culture Awards:
Teamwork: Juan Brito and the GPC Grounds Crew, College-wide Plant Operations; and The Chattahoochee Review staff of Anna Schachner, Lydia Ship and Alicia Johanneson.
Leadership: Rodney Pegues
Quality Service: Sheree Simpson and Linda Fields Continuous Improvement: Alice Murray
Student Success: Nathaniel Holmes
Access/Capacity: Cynthia Lester and Vertilee Henry Enhancement: Jennifer Jenkins

GPC Values Awards: Simone Clay, Brandi Meriwether and Bishara Omar

NACADA Region IV Award for Excellence in Advising – Faculty: Dr. Salli Vargis

President’s Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award: Dr.Jeffrey Portnoy

Silver award from the In-Plant Printing and Mailing Association (poster advertising for the GPC Theatre Arts Guild play, “The Importance of Being Earnest”): Barbara Gatewood and designer Suzie Amsberry

Teaching Excellence: Joanne Weir and Timothy Tarkington

2015 National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development Excellence Awards: Deborah Byrd, English and Dr. Michael Nelson, biology

25-year Service Awards: Louise Boynton, Sharon Riley, Linda Scott, Betty Benardo, Fred Bounds, Ashraful Chowdhury, Susan Clarke, Pamela Gore, Barbara Hall, Michael Hall, Beth Jensen, Rosemary Robertson, Sheryl Shanholtzer, Tina Stern, James Williams, Emily Whaley, Judy Nichols, Rhonda Shaw, Lora Mirza, Margaret Major, Keith Harris and Paul Beams

35-year Service Award: Lynn Ellington

Information provided by GPC Newsroom

About Farhin Lilywala

Check out the latest posts!

Coverage of Boko Haram

Sometimes, there are horrendous events that happen in the world that do not always get …